Bichos Argentinos #14 – Flies!

A few miscellaneous fly photos from La Reserva Ecológica Costanera Sur (Buenos Aires, Argentina)  taken last March.  I don’t have IDs except provisionally to family (let’s face it—flies are hard!).

I suppose something in the Tachinidae, based on the black and white striped coloration and distinct abdominal setae.


Definitely a robber fly (family Asilidae), but which one?


I suppose this is some kind of bottle fly (family Calliphoridae).


Nice eyes!


Copyright © Ted C. MacRae 20011

22 thoughts on “Bichos Argentinos #14 – Flies!

    • Thank, Ani. It’s funny you say clean, because I was really bugged by the dust particles on them (especially the robber fly). I thought about PS’ing them to clean them up, but there was too much dirt (I did clean the eyes, though).

        • It’s pretty hard to find insects without debris on them. If there’s just a little bit I’ll clean them up, but if it is extensive, or mixed in with setae (making cleanup in PS much more complicated), I’ll just take care of the eyes and be done with it.

  1. Man, it’s cross-over Friday apparently… Alex is blogging beetles, you’re blogging flies; I feel like I should do an ant post to complete the triangle!

    I tried keying each of the flies to subfamily/tribe/genus (your family IDs are correct) and each one got stumped by the wrong angle on the 1st or 2nd couplet… I’m pretty sure the tachinid is in the tribe Dexiini based on the long legs and overall shape, but that’s just a gestalt guess. Great pictures though!

  2. That robber fly is probably belongs to the subfamily asilinae, known as “bearded” or “giant” robber flies depending on the genus.

  3. Gorgeous fly photos…..robber flies are one of my favorite insects to photograph. In fact flies in general are some of my favorites! They are beautiful, big eyed insects that come in a wide variety of sizes, and colors. With the possible exception to the house fly……

Commentaria