Bichos Argentinos #11 – I’m out’a here!

Neither of these photos are very good, but it’s the firefly’s fault.  I saw it last month in a soybean field in Buenos Aires Province, Argentina. I got off the first shot, but the flash disturbed it and it started walking around. I quickly set up for another shot, got it framed, fired the shot, and saw the second photo on the screen!

Everything about this firefly seems backwards – most fireflies are black with yellow, orange or red markings – this one is yellow with small black markings.  The terminal segments of the abdomen are dark while the rest are light – opposite of most other fireflies.  This one was out and about during the day, while most others are crepuscular or nocturnal.  Maybe it’s a result of being in the Southern Hemisphere – opposite of most other fireflies I’ve seen.

Copyright © Ted C. MacRae 2011

About Ted C. MacRae

Ted C. MacRae is a research entomologist by vocation and beetle taxonomist by avocation. Areas of expertise in the latter include worldwide jewel beetles (Buprestidae) and North American longhorned beetles (Cerambycidae). More recent work has focused on North American tiger beetles (Cicindelidae) and their distribution, ecology, and conservation.
This entry was posted in Coleoptera, Lampyridae and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bichos Argentinos #11 – I’m out’a here!

  1. I love it when an unexpected flight shot happens!

    I believe I’ve seen something similar to this in Brazil.

    • First time it’s ever happened to me – well, at least the first time I managed to get the shot before it was out of frame!

      I didn’t find anything at all similar in my searching, although I didn’t really give this one a thorough effort.

  2. James C. Trager says:

    Was just going to say, I like that second one. Good action!

Commentaria

